PrintEmail
Home
Click to Home
Go To Search
Licenses
Dog Licenses
Every owner of a dog (six months or older) must license the dog annually in the Town Clerk's Office where the owner or keeper of the dog resides. Before the license can be issued, proof of current rabies vaccination is required. Any person who becomes the owner or keeper of a dog during the year must license the dog within thirty (30) days of ownership.
  • All dogs are required to be licensed annually during the month of April for a fee of $6 per canine. A current rabies certificate must be presented before a license will be issued. For dogs not licensed in a timely manner, the licensing fee will be doubled.
  • Dog licenses may be obtained at the Office of the Town Clerk or by mail with a stamped self-addressed return envelope.
  • Dogs are required to be kept on a leash when outside their enclosed area. If found wandering, the owner is subject to a fine if the animal is impounded by the Animal Control Officer.
  • Kennel licenses must be applied for during the month of March. There is a flat fee of $25 for all kennel licenses (despite the number of the dogs in the kennel).

Clamming Licenses
Residents of Rhode Island do not need a license to take or possess shellfish recreationally in Rhode Island waters.

Non-residents over the age of twelve (12) years must obtain an annual or tourist shellfish license.  This license is valid for fourteen (14) consecutive days only, including the date of issue, and is limited to one per calendar year.  This 14-day Tourist Shellfish license can be obtained from the Town Clerk's Office for $11.

Fishing and Hunting Licenses
The Town Clerk is an agent of the State Department of Environmental Management and issues freshwater fishing licenses, trout stamps, and migratory bird tags to any person over the age of 15. In addition, permanent “over 65” licenses are available at no charge. Any person applying for a hunting license for the first time must take a course of instruction in safe hunting practices and the use of firearms and/or archery formulated by the Department of Environmental Management. 

            Resident Fees                               Non-Resident Fees
  Freshwater Fishing License - $18                  Fishing License - $35
  Hunting License - $18                                 Hunting License - $45
  Combo Hunting/Fishing - $33

Saltwater fishing licenses
Rhode Island saltwater fishing licenses ARE NOT available at the Clerk's Office for purchase. There are a number of approved vendors throughout the State that issue saltwater fishing licenses for both residents and non-residents. For more information on this new licensing requirement please visit NOAA's Marine Recreational Information Program website.


Follow Us
Contact Us
25 Fifth Avenue
Narragansett,
Rhode Island 02882
Ph. (401) 789-1044